Les VanderMeers’ Bestiary Anthology (*squeeeeee!*)

Jeff VanderMeer has announced the ToC (thus far) of the bestiary anthology he and Ann are putting together:

Auricle – Gio Clairval
Bartleby’s Typewriter – Corey Redekop
Counsellor Crow – Karen Lord
Daydreamer by Proxy – Dexter Palmer
Enkantong-bato – Dean Francis Alfar
Figmon – Michael Cisco
Guest – Brian Conn
Hadrian’s Sparrikan – Stephen Graham Jones
Ible – Brian Evenson
Jason Bug – Joseph Nigg
Mosquito Boy – Felix Gilman
Pyret – Karin Tidbeck
Quintus – Michal Ajvaz
Rapacis X. Loco Signa – L.L. Hannett
Tongues of Moon Toad – Cat Rambo
Ugly-Nest Rat – Eric Schaller
Vanga – Rikki Ducornet
Xaratan – Rhys Hughes
Yakshantariksh – Vandana Singh
Zee – Richard Howard


Jeff also tantalises readers by revealing: It’s in an A-Z format, all-originals, but will also include some surprises—like an invisible letter, a 27th letter, and a secret appearance by a Special Guest. Heh. We should have several more to announce shortly, including from Leena Krohn, Reza Negarestani, Cat Valente, Micaela Morrissette, and Rochita Loenin-Ruiz.

The whole project is so exciting, I may even dance a jig to weird birdman’s ear-nose-flute music!


Leave a comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: