Woke up this morning to the most exciting news EVER! The World Fantasy Award ballot was announced last night, and Bluegrass Symphony is nominated for Best Collection!!


I’m on the list with amazing people like Robert Shearman, Ann and Jeff VanderMeer, Caitlín R. Kiernan, Ellen Datlow, Karen Joy Fowler, Catherynne Valente, Brett Savory and Sandra Kasturi, not to mention the wonderful Kathleen Jennings and Charles Tan — I could honestly mention everyone, so I’ll stop. It is so cool to be included on a list with such talented people!!

HUGE congratulations to everyone! Hope to see you all in Toronto! 😀

2012 World Fantasy Awards Ballot

The World Fantasy Convention 2012 will be held in Toronto, Canada.

Life Achievement

winner Alan Garner
winner George R.R. Martin

Those Across the River, Christopher Buehlman (Ace)
11/22/63, Stephen King (Scribner; Hodder & Stoughton as 11.22.63)
A Dance with Dragons, George R.R. Martin (Bantam; Harper Voyager UK)
Osama, Lavie Tidhar (PS Publishing)
Among Others, Jo Walton (Tor)

“Near Zennor”, Elizabeth Hand (A Book of Horrors)
“A Small Price to Pay for Birdsong”, K.J. Parker (Subterranean Winter 2011)
“Alice Through the Plastic Sheet”, Robert Shearman (A Book of Horrors)
“Rose Street Attractors”, Lucius Shepard (Ghosts by Gaslight)
“Silently and Very Fast”, Catherynne M. Valente (WSFA Press; Clarkesworld)

Short Story
“X for Demetrious”, Steve Duffy (Blood and Other Cravings)
“Younger Women”, Karen Joy Fowler (Subterranean Summer 2011)
“The Paper Menagerie”, Ken Liu (F&SF 3-4/11)
“A Journey of Only Two Paces”, Tim Powers (The Bible Repairman and Other Stories)
“The Cartographer Wasps and the Anarchist Bees”, E. Lily Yu (Clarkesworld 4/11)

Blood and Other Cravings, Ellen Datlow, ed. (Tor)
A Book of Horrors, Stephen Jones, ed. (Jo Fletcher Books)
The Thackery T. Lambshead Cabinet of Curiosities, Ann & Jeff VanderMeer, eds. (Harper Voyager US)
The Weird, Ann & Jeff VanderMeer, eds. (Corvus; Tor, published May 2012)
Gutshot, Conrad Williams, ed. (PS Publishing)

Bluegrass Symphony, Lisa L. Hannett (Ticonderoga)
Two Worlds and In Between, Caitlín R. Kiernan (Subterranean Press)
After the Apocalypse, Maureen F. McHugh (Small Beer)
Mrs Midnight and Other Stories, Reggie Oliver (Tartarus)
The Bible Repairman and Other Stories, Tim Powers (Tachyon)

John Coulthart
Julie Dillon
Jon Foster
Kathleen Jennings
John Picacio

Special Award—Professional
John Joseph Adams, for editing – anthology and magazine
Jo Fletcher, for editing – Jo Fletcher Books
Eric Lane, for publishing in translation – Dedalus books
Brett Alexander Savory & Sandra Kasturi, for ChiZine Publications
Jeff VanderMeer & S.J. Chambers, for The Steampunk Bible

Special Award—Non-professional
Kate Baker, Neil Clarke, Cheryl Morgan & Sean Wallace, for Clarkesworld
Cat Rambo, for Fantasy
Raymond Russell & Rosalie Parker, for Tartarus Press
Charles Tan, for Bibliophile Stalker blog
Mark Valentine, for Wormwood



  1. Huzzah!! Let the champy flow, sweetie, this is wonderful news – congratulations, cheers and hooplahs 🙂

Leave a comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: