A change to the ballot: Best Achievement

For any of you who may be tempted to vote in the Ditmars for the cover design I did for Angela Slatter’s lovely collection, The Girl With No Hands, please note: this nomination has been reclassified as ‘Best Achievement’ instead of ‘Best Artwork’. I’m delighted and more than a bit relieved at this change (not least because the cover is no longer up against The Incredible Shaun Tan!) because I would have been quite uncomfortable receiving an award for ‘Best Artwork’ when I have always made it clear that the basis for the design is an illustration by Leon Bakst, not a drawing purely of my own invention.

So if you love the cover, if you think I chose well in selecting and adapting this illustration for Angela’s work, if you like the layout and design, then I’d be over the moon to be recognised for ‘Best Achievement.’

(But, oh my, it’s stiff competition in this category too!) 

Best Achievement
* Lisa L. Hannett, cover design for The Girl With No Hands and Other Tales (Ticonderoga Publications)
* Helen Merrick and Andrew Milner, Academic Stream for Aussiecon 4
* Amanda Rainey, cover design for Scary Kisses
* Kyla Ward, Horror Stream and The Nightmare Ball for Aussiecon 4
* Grant Watson and Sue Ann Barber, Media Stream for Aussiecon4
* Alisa Krasnostein, Kathryn Linge, Rachel Holkner, Alexandra Pierce, Tansy Rayner Roberts, and Tehani Wessely, Snapshot 2010

Best of luck to all! 🙂


Leave a comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: